IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame

DANIA BEACH, Fla. — Five men will be inducted into the International Game Fish Association Fishing Hall of Fame, this fall.  The class of 2005 includes Stuart "Stu" C. Apte, John L. Morris, George Parker, Donald J. Tyson and Edward vom Hofe.

The star-studded enshrinement ceremony and dinner, sponsored by Rolex, will be held Tuesday, October 25, at 6 p.m. at the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame & Museum in Dania Beach, Fla. The public is invited.
Each year the honorees are selected for the important contributions they have made to the sport of fishing through angling achievements, literature, the arts, science, education, invention, communication, or administration of fishery resources.

The inductees and their contributions are:
Stu ApteStuart "Stu"C. Apte  An all-around angler considered a pioneer in fly fishing for tarpon.  In the 1960s Apte developed a huge following as a Florida Keys guide. He’s also a writer, photographer and holder of more than 40 IGFA world records.

Johnny MorrisJohn L. Morris  Best known as the founder of Bass Pro Shops, one of the world’s leading suppliers of fishing tackle, Morris is a five-time qualifier for the Bassmaster Classic, an ardent conservationist and an IGFA Trustee Emeritus.

George ParkerGeorge Parker  One of the first captains to charter regularly out of Kona, Parker caught Hawaii’s first blue marlin over 1,000 lb in 1954, then went head-to-head with scientists until the grander was properly identified as a Pacific blue marlin.

Donald TysonDonald J. Tyson  Tyson is a passionate billfisherman dedicated to tagging and releasing the world’s great fish for future generations.  As IGFA Trustee, he played a major role in making the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame & Museum a reality.

Edward vom Hofe  He produced fly and salmon reels, in the mid and late 1800s then began responding to the demands of saltwater anglers.  Vom Hofe reels were known for their craftsmanship and dependability, the reel of choice for well-heeled, blue water fishermen.  He died in 1920 at the age of 74.

Joining Andy Mill on stage as the masters of ceremonies will be Mark Sosin who was inducted in the 2004 IGFA Hall of Fame enshrinement class. There are currently 55 Hall of Fame members enshrined including Ernest Hemingway, Zane Grey, Curt Gowdy, Michael and Helen Lerner, Philip Wylie and Ted Williams.

The evening will include a cocktail reception, silent auction, the induction ceremony and dinner. Special sponsorships and sponsor tables are available. For reservation information please call 954-924-4222. 

Founded in 1939, the IGFA is a not for profit organization committed to the conservation of game fish and promotion of responsible, ethical angling practices through science, education, rule making and record keeping. IGFA members are located in over 125 countries and territories.  The IGFA welcomes visitors to its 60,000-sq.ft .interactive Fishing Hall of Fame and Museum headquartered in Dania Beach, Fla.  The IGFA web site can be found at www.igfa.org.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.