Tips for using SONAR "Fish Finders"

Started by Ouachita, December 03, 2005, 12:26:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ouachita

It might be a good idea to start a collection of sonar tips in one place. This is a very busy topic everywhere I visit on the web, so why not go for the most comprehensive sonar source on the web right here on Ultimatebass? I'd like for everyone interested to first do a little reading so we can get the basics covered, then we can get into particulars not covered in the following article I think is one of the best introductions out there. It's a downloadable document that has tested virus free.

http://webpages.charter.net/abshire5078/Chart%20tutorial.doc

If there's interest I'd like to make sure every sonar user here can get the most out of sonar charts towards more excellent fishing. I'm not an expert on sonar, but have studied every resource I can find and put it all to use to get the most out of my investment of money and time fiddling with it on the water. If we take time to accumulate our collective knowledge we might all become experts together.  ~c~

Jim

Ouachita

Now for a little general stuff. Sonar "sees" mostly the air bladders in fish, but also can detect their scales and fins to a lesser degree. The flesh of a fish is too close to the "visibility" of water for it to distinguish the majority of a fish. Some species have large air bladders so their arch is more pronounced than others. The closer the transducer gets to the air bladder the thicker the arch display.